top of page
Search

How JMP Came to Life - Mishi Jain

The story of the archetypal young Jain who half-heartedly attends pathshala and disconnects almost entirely after graduating is one that many in America can relate to. As a native Houstonian (go Astros!) and active member of the Jain Society of Houston, one of the largest sanghs in America, I always noticed how easy it was to disconnect with one’s sangh. Young Jains would be engaged with their sangh to the extent of attending pathshala and nothing more regarding any other aspects of their lives, whether it be related to college, career, or personal matters. Then, after graduating high school, they would become disengaged with their Jain community since they would no longer attend pathshala, removing the only link they had to their sangh to begin with.


As someone who actively attended pathshala throughout all of my schooling years and engaged in leadership roles with the Jain Fellowship of Houston youth group, I soon realized the untapped potential to create a stronger, more close-knit community that spans generations and cultivates multiple links to one’s sangh. As such, my friend Siddharth Kurwa and I initiated the Houston Jain Mentorship Program (JMP). The main goals of such a program are as follows:

  • Guide high school students to develop a better understanding of their preferred field of study and discover possible internships and career opportunities

  • Encourage high school students to make informed decisions about college selection and develop college-readiness, academically and personally

  • Provide high school students with a better understanding on how to implement Jain values through the college experience

  • Develop strong connections between future leaders by fostering a sense of community and interdependence

JMP is set up so that mentors, current college students and recent graduates, are paired with mentees, high school juniors and seniors, for a year. A mentor could be any individual who has a connection to Houston, ranging from those who are native Houstonians to students who had moved to the city for college. Prospective mentors and mentees are matched up based on a variety of factors such as college and career interests, geographic proximity, and shared hobbies. On the back end, Siddharth and I create monthly themes such as resume review, scholarships, summer opportunities, and essay editing, and gather corresponding resources such as a list of applicable scholarships, essay editing tips, and more. Mentors and mentees “check-in” with each other via phone call or video chat and discuss the monthly theme, though they are not limited to that topic. In addition, in-person events such as workshops, panels, and webinars are organized to compliment the check-ins.


The 2017–2018 pilot year of JMP saw a total of 26 participants, consisting of 13 mentors and 13 mentees. While the initial year of JMP faced barriers such as garnerning traction with both mentors and mentees, it has also shown us the true value of mentorship and community among young Jains.

  • Mentor Raj Dalal, sophomore at Rice University describes, “JMP has given me an opportunity to offer all the advice I wish I had received when I was in high school. In addition, the program has been great because it has deconstructed some of the social barriers that separate high schoolers and college students at our temple.”

  • Mentee Jenali Mehta, senior in high school, “JMP is a wonderful mentorship program that not only gave me insight into the application process but also made me an organized person. Each month there is a topic that helped me think beyond just college essays, and the mentors are very dedicated to making sure that I was taking advantage of every opportunity available to me so that I can get in to my dream college.”

  • Mentee Vanshika Jhonsa, junior in high school, “The mentorship program has helped me a lot. Since my mentor is in the same field that I want to go in, he is able to give me specific advice that will help me get into the program I want. He is also super nice and willing to help with any questions I have.”

For anyone looking to foster a stronger youth community at their local sangh, tapping into the immense knowledge of their pathshala graduates, and giving back to the future generations to ensure that they are better prepared, I call on you to create a Jain Mentorship Program at your sangh. In fact, I call on every sangh to organize a similar program. The impact this program has had not only on mentees, but also mentors, is truly phenomenal.

For additional questions about the Houston Jain Mentorship Program, or if you would like to replicate a similar model at your sangh and need materials, please feel free to contact me at mishi.jain@yja.org.

19 views0 comments
bottom of page